Pep Guardiola names the two coaches who deserve to beat him to manager of the year

Pep Guardiola has backed Sean Dyche and Rafael Benitez to win this season’s Manager of the Year award. The Manchester City boss is the frontrunner for the accolade having guided the Sky Blues to the Premier League title. Guardiola and City have been beaten just twice times this league campaign and are an incredible 19 points clear at the top of the table.

It’s unusual for a title-winning manager to be snubbed in the end-of-year awards, but Guardiola admitted he would not surprised if Newcastle’s Benitez or Burnley’s Dyche beat him to honour. ‘Of course, the teams for the players who are nominated to win have more chance,’ he said.

‘But, believe me, if the Burnley manager, my colleagues, or, for example, Rafa Benitez at Newcastle – he’s made an amazing job.

‘For example, Salah is [named] the best player – I’m not going to say it’s unfair. But if they say Kevin [De Bruyne], I’m not going to say it’s unfair too.

‘There are many, many players and many managers who deserve that. ‘You know my opinion about that. It’s a collective game. It isn’t tennis or golf. A lot of people are involved in our success. The reason why is a lot.

‘I’m sitting in front of you , it looks like I’m more important. But it’s more important how you [collectively] help the players to play well.’ City are on course to win the league by more points, wins and goals than any previous champions, although no Sky Blues manager has ever collected the award.

Title-winner Manuel Pellegrini was pipped to the honour by Crystal Palace’s Tony Pulis in 2014, while Roberto Mancini missed out to Newcastle’s Alan Pardew in 2012 despite delivering City’s first ever Premier League title that season.

Source: Metro Online

Click here to follow us Twitter

Click here to like us on Facebook

This post was created with our nice and easy submission form. Create your post!

Share this post

What do you think?

100 points
Upvote Downvote


Notify of

This Is The Kind Of Guy You Should Watch Out For

Homeless Are Getting Six-Figure Jobs in Poor Neighborhood Overrun by Tech Companies